Salt

saltRecently a friend was going through a difficult time in her family life. As we spoke she made the statement, “I need the community of believers right now. I need to worship with others. I have prayed, read and listened on line to worship, but I just need to experience Jesus with skin on.”

A few days later I learned that some women from her prayer group had kidnapped her and taken her out to dinner. They laughed, talked and cried together. They prayed for her and simply loved her. When we spoke again she sounded very different. She had been with believers, not in a church service, but in a restaurant where they laughed, talked and cried together. They prayed for each other and my friend was restored in her spirit. Her situation had not changed, but her total outlook had been refreshed and she had the courage and strength to go on.

I was reminded that years ago I made bread. I had put in the yeast, the flour, honey and oil. I had kneaded it and it rose and became five beautiful loaves of bread. The aroma filled the house and I sliced a piece right away. I watched as the butter melted and mixed with the honey on this delicious looking, amazing fresh hot bread, straight from the oven.

images
Publicdomain.net

WELL YUK!!! What was wrong with this bread?!

I had forgotten to add the salt. I had baked five beautiful loaves of bread. And I threw away five beautiful loaves of bread.

No salt.

Jesus told us we were to be the salt of the earth. My friend had all the ingredients to walk through this pain. She had the Word. She had the Spirit. She had Prayer. But sometimes we all just need a little salt to complete the recipe. We need the salt to make the bread of adversity  palatable. We need the salt to help us share the load so we can grasp hold of the hand of the Lord and just keep walking forward.

We all need a little salt sometimes. And at other times, we need to BE the salt. The Lord told us to bear each others burdens. The Book of Proverbs tells us that when one falls the other can lift him up.  Building community with other believers in so important in our lives. God created community in the garden. Jesus walked in community with his disciples. We were created for community. We need each other.

unknown-1

So go and be salt to your world!

Published by

Our lives-His Purposes, Ruthie's impressions

My passion is to see others move into a more intimate relationship with the Lord Jesus, come into the fullness of their identity and destiny, and advance the Kingdom of God in the earth.

4 thoughts on “Salt”

  1. I love this Ruthie. As a professional bread and desert chef for Ryan’s ,I sure know this to be true.You’ve just gotta have the salt ! I am in a place in my spiritual life right now where I feel God calling me to be the salt for others. I don’t know just exactly how Gods going to use me,I feel like it will be by going into the ministry of counseling others, I have had two previous husband’s to be called home and now God has blessed me with a wonderful Christian man who shares my unswerving faith in Him and I try to help Kevin as much as I can in the ministry that he has been called to as the worship leader at our church.You met both of us at the Tri-State Prayer conference last Saturday.I just really feel that God has great things in store for us. I want to be the salt for other people and show them Jesus in me ! Please pray for us to always have the faith and courage to follow His direction. I know that with God,the sky’s the limit and nothings impossible.

Leave a Reply

