Would Jesus know the score of the Texas/Notre Dame Game? Recreation creates Community

11155965043_5fc5982a28_o
David Hartwig Photo

 This morning as I listened in on a conversation between my husband and his friend Roger, their joy and laughter peaked my interest. Were they talking about a church service? A great move of God? Both love with Lord with all their hearts, what were they enjoying so much in their conversation? They were rehashing the Texas/Notre Dame game from last night. “Mmmm, not so spiritual,” I thought. But maybe I was wrong.

Would Jesus know the score of the Texas/Notre Dame football game? In the reality of the Kingdom of God, this is probably not even on the list, but the joy, camaraderie and fellowship around a football game? Maybe so.

Recreation creates community-it’s a God thing.

Recreation means, “Activities done for enjoyment, when not working.” My friend, Julian Goddard, an awesome man of God, studied Recreation at ORU. He explained it this way: “We were created spirit, soul and body. When we break down the word recreation, we get Re (to renew) and Creation (our physical body and soul). Recreation is a spiritual component of the whole man.”

Recreation is close to God’s heart. He and Adam enjoyed one another’s company as they walk in the garden. Perhaps they investigated the new bean crop, checked on how the pecan trees were producing, laughed and raced to the barn to see the new colt with wobbly legs. Recreation and communion at it’s finest. Adam had worked all week tending the garden. On Sabbath, he and God strolled, chatted and enjoyed the Creation together. This refreshed Adam’s spirit for the coming week, rested his body, renewed his mind and also enhanced the relationship between the Father and Adam, building the first community.

Recreation creating community-it’s a God thing.

Jesus fished, laughed and enjoyed recreation so that he could connect on a different level with his friends. Recreation creating community.

For me, there is nothing more invigorating than a brisk walk on a cool crisp autumn morning. It clears the cobwebs from my mind so that I can hear a fresh word in my spirit or not. It allows me to just ‘be.’ But it’s always better when I walk with neighbors, chatting about recipes, children and the beauty of Fall. Recreation creating community.

8115937209_c8571be4fb_o

Ronald Saunders

I love the exhilaration of accomplishment that comes from a good work out-that is, when I do it. But it is much easier when someone else is there to spur me on. Watching a great football game with friends or any time spent with my grandchildren as they swim, play soccer or baseball is recreation. Cookouts, luncheons, football tailgates. I have a long list of fun things I enjoy. Most involve food, but that is for another day. Recreation creating community.

What do you do for fun? What makes you laugh? What refreshes you and connects you to others in the joy of community? What refreshes your soul, re-creates you?

Enjoy recreation with a friend today. Laugh together because laughter is like a good medicine. High five when your team scores. Go for a walk or run with a neighbor. Pull away from the busyness of life, clear the cobwebs and have some fun. Be RE-CREATED with the Joy of the Lord in community.

IMG_1539

Recreation creates community-it’s a God thing.

 

 

 

Published by

Our lives-His Purposes, Ruthie's impressions

My passion is to see others move into a more intimate relationship with the Lord Jesus, come into the fullness of their identity and destiny, and advance the Kingdom of God in the earth.

8 thoughts on “Would Jesus know the score of the Texas/Notre Dame Game? Recreation creates Community”

  1. Ruthie I always enjoy reading what you write!! It is always uplifting and fun!! I love your quote “recreation creates community-it’s a God thing”!! It really does!! It can even break down barriers. Our daughter and granddaughter visited us this weekend. While my daughter was getting everything ready to leave this morning our granddaughter and I are sitting in the recliner together watching funny animal videos. She and I both were cracking up laughing. I laughed so hard my side hurt; but it was GREAT!! What memories we were making and what an awesome bonding time we had!! Would not have missed those moments that we had left together for nothing else in this world!! Everytime I read your writings it opens something up in me that nothing else does. WEIRD huh??!!! Thank for sharing!! It is ALWAYS a blessing and encouragement.

  2. Great insights Ruthie. Two things come to mind: 1) most Christians are so performanced oriented that we cannot see the benefit of just resting, relaxing and having fun. I know that I struggle with this, not as much as I used to but still do to some degree. 2) We have been taught for so long that there is a difference between the “sacred and the secular.” Therefore we can not seem to enjoy anything that is not “church or Christian” related because it is not sacred. I have come to believe that laughter is one of the most sacred things we can do.

Leave a Reply

