Honor for ‘The Name’

Unknown

This morning I am working on a book about our Kinsman Redeemer, Jesus. In doing so I am reading about each time Our Father cut covenant in the Old Covenant (Testament). As I was doing some research on the web about the Tallit, or prayer covering that denotes covenant, I was undone by the honor and respect the Jewish people have for ‘The Name’ of our Great God. To read and sense the fear of the Lord when writing or using his Name, which by the way is the beginning of wisdom, has been humbling and astounding at the same time.

One site begins with this sentence: “Please note that this page contain the name of God. If you print it out, please treat it with appropriate respect.”

How often do I simply talk about the Lord, yet do not stop and realize that He is the King of the Universe. How often do I use His name in a flippant manner, not realizing that I am speaking of the Ruler of the Universe, who with the flick of his finger could take me out!

One of the issues in Ezekiel 22 when God was deciding whether or not to destroy the entire city was this: ‘They do not understand the difference between the common and the Holy.’

Growing up I had always understood that we do not take the Lord’s name in vain, which to me meant using the G D words. But in seeing how the Jewish people did and, still do today, treat “The Name” with reverence and honor I am getting a totally different perspective.

Yes, I understand that Jesus came to set us free from the law of sin and death, but, my friend, do we in our freedom forget who he is and what His Holiness is about?

Yes, we can come boldly before the throne of God, covered by the blood of Jesus, but do we really stop and consider the magnitude of the suffering it took for us to have that privilege and covering?

I was admonished by the author of this web site to remember that His Name is in this paper, and to please treat it with proper respect and honor. I was stopped dead in my tracks.

0854e29efd494ba52cd4c56b7a2562e5
pinterest.com

As I continued to read I saw the Shema which was to be recited every morning in prayer.

“Hear, O Israel, the Lord is our God, the Lord is One.

Blessed be the Name of His glorious kingdom forever and ever.

And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.

And these words that I command you today shall be in your heart.

And you shall teach them diligently to your children, and you shall speak of them when you sit at home, and when you walk along the way, and when you lie down and when you rise up.”

Am I saying to go back under the law, to repeat rote prayers? NO! But I am saying in the mornings, I need to stop and realize the privilege and honor that I have to meet with this amazing, great, Holy God each day. Yes, I can come boldly into his presence, BUT I need to honor him for who he is, to meditate on his Holiness, His greatness, His majesty before I rush to my own needs and my problems. I need to stop and come into His gates with thanks giving because of what He has done for me. I need to enter His Court Room with praises to the One who has set me free.

I need to honor Him in everything I do this day, being aware that He is with me when I rise up and when I lay down; to understand that He is for me and will help me in my time of trouble.

I need to be aware that I am a carrier of His Name and I must be careful of how I reflect his character.

I must kneel before him, honor and respect him and yes, fear Him and Him alone.

Unknown-1
campusbiblechurch.com

Because the fear of the Lord IS the beginning of wisdom.

Published by

Our lives-His Purposes, Ruthie's impressions

My passion is to see others move into a more intimate relationship with the Lord Jesus, come into the fullness of their identity and destiny, and advance the Kingdom of God in the earth.

11 thoughts on “Honor for ‘The Name’”

  1. Oh Ruthie I love this, thank you! So many use His name flippantly, but He is holy. We hyphenate the “O”s in words like G-d and L-rd to keep ourselves in rememberance that we’re making a reference to the King so we’d better be aware of what we’re writing! I so appreciate this and look forward to your book!

Leave a Reply

